SHALER AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT Reorganization Meeting December 6, 2023 – Shaler Area Administrative Offices / Virtual Minutes

The Board of School Directors of the Shaler Area School District held a Reorganization Meeting on Wednesday, December 6, 2023, at the Shaler Area Administrative Offices and on Zoom, a virtual meeting platform, with Dr. April Kwiatkowski, School Board President, presiding. This meeting began at 7:07 p.m.

Board Members Present:	Ms. Elizabeth Dunn Mr. James Fisher Mr. Tim Gapsky Mr. Edward Kress Dr. April Kwiatkowski Mr. Jason Machajewski Ms. Dorothy Petrancosta Mrs. Eileen Phillips Mr. James Tunstall
Others Present:	Dr. Sean Aiken, Superintendent Dr. Bryan O'Black, Deputy Superintendent Mrs. Sherri Jaffee, Director of Business Affairs Dr. Joseph Testa, Director of Student Affairs Mr. John Vogel, Solicitor Mr. John Kaib, Supervisor of Buildings & Grounds Isabelle Dutkovic, Student Representative Eleni Karnavas, Student Representative

Notice of this meeting was posted as required.

Dr. Kwiatkowski called the meeting to order at 7:06 p.m. and asked the Board and audience to stand for the Pledge of Allegiance.

The re-elected Board members, Mr. Fisher, Mr. Machajewski, Mrs. Phillips, and Mr. Tunstall, and the newly elected Board member Ms. Petrancosta, were sworn in by The Honorable Daniel J. Konieczka, Jr., District Magistrate.

Mr. Vogel asked for nominations for the office of President of School Board of Directors to serve until the first week of December 2024.

Ms. Petrancosta nominated Dr. Kwiatkowski to serve as Board President. Mr. Kress nominated Mr. Fisher, who declined the nomination. On a motion by Mr. Tunstall and a second by Mr. Gapsky, the board approved to close the nominations.

Dr. April Kwiatkowski was elected to the position of Board President to serve until the first week of December 2024 in an 8-1 vote.

<u>ACTION:</u> Elected by acclamation.

Dr. Kwiatkowski then called for nominations for Vice-President to serve until the first week of December 2024.

Mr. Fisher nominated Mr. Tunstall to serve as Vice-President. On a motion by Ms. Petrancosta and a second by Mr. Gapsky, the board approved closing the nominations.

Mr. Tunstall was elected to the position of Board Vice-President to serve until the first week of December 2024 in a 9-0 vote.

ACTION: Elected by acclamation.

Dr. Kwiatkowski congratulated all the newly reelected board members and welcomed Ms. Petrancosta as a new member.

- Dr. Kwiatkowski then presented the following appointments:
 - > Appointment of Tucker Arensberg (John Vogel, lead attorney) as Solicitor and set annual retainer.
 - Proposed Retainer of \$1,050/month, with hourly rates of \$180/hour for partners; \$1170/hour for associates; and \$115/hour for paralegals.

On a motion by Mrs. Phillips and second by Mr. Gapsky, the appointment of Tucker Arensberg as ACTION: Solicitor was approved in a 9-0 vote. Appointed by

Appointed by acclamation.

- Appointment of Earned Income Tax Collection to Keystone Municipal Collections for the Shaler Area School District in the four municipalities:
 - Borough of Etna
 - Borough of Millvale
 - Township of Shaler
 - Township of Reserve

On a motion by Mr. Tunstall and second by Mr. Gapsky, the appointment of Earned Income Tax Collection to Keystone Municipal Collections for the District's four municipalities was approved by voice vote by all in attendance.

> Appointment of the Delinquent Earned Income Tax Collector in the following municipalities:

- Borough of Etna and Township of Shaler through Keystone Municipal Collections
 - Township of Reserve through Jordan Tax Service
 - Borough of Millvale through Borough of Millvale

On a motion by Mr. Gapsky and second by Ms. Petrancosta, the appointment of Delinquent	
Earned Income Tax Collectors was approved by voice vote by all in attendance.	

Appointment of Local Service Tax (LST) Collectors in the following municipalities to Keystone Municipal Collections:

- Borough of Etna
- Borough of Millvale
- Township of Shaler
- Township of Reserve

On a motion by Mr. Fisher and second by Mr. Gapsky, the appointment of Local Service Tax (LST) Collectors to Keystone Municipal Collections for the District's four municipalities was approved by voice vote by all in attendance.

ACTION: Appointed by acclamation.

<u>ACTION:</u> Appointed by acclamation. > Appointment of Representatives to A.W. Beattie Career Center.

Mr. Tunstall nominated Mr. Fisher as A.W. Beattie Career Center Representative. Mr. Fisher ACTION: nominated Mr. Tunstall as an alternate. On a motion by Mr. Gapsky and second by Ms. Dunn, the motion was approved by voice vote by all in attendance.

Appointment of PSBA Legislative Chairperson. \succ

Mrs. Phillips nominated Ms. Dunn as the PSBA Legislative Chairperson with a second by Mr. ACTION: Machajewski. The motion for Ms. Dunn to be the PSBA Legislative Chairperson was approved by Appointed by voice vote by all in attendance. acclamation.

 \triangleright Appointment of a Representative to the Shaler Area Education Foundation.

Mr. Gapsky nominated Mrs. Phillips as the Representative to the Shaler Area Education ACTION: Foundation. On a motion by Mr. Tunstall and a second by Ms. Dunn, the motion for Mrs. Phillips to be the Representative to the Shaler Area Education Foundation was approved by voice vote by acclamation. all in attendance.

- Authorize the use of the existing signature plates for the following accounts: ≻
 - PA School District Liquid Asset Fund – PSDLAF (PNC Financial)
 - Construction, Renovation & Repair Services
 - General Fund Checking
 - Payroll Checking Account •
 - Cafeteria Checking .

 \succ

Bond Construction Fund

On a motion by Mrs. Phillips and second by Mr. Tunstall the authorization to use the existing signature plates was approved by voice vote by all in attendance.

Select the date, time, and place for regular meetings for January 2024 through December 2024. (See attached proposed schedule). Mr. Gapsky proposed that the public meetings begin at 7:30 p.m.

On a motion by Ms. Petrancosta and second by Mr. Gapsky the date, time and place for regular meetings was approved by voice vote by all in attendance.

Approved by acclamation.

ACTION:

- \succ Discuss any early January Committee meetings that might need to be scheduled so they can be properly advertised.
 - Wednesday, January 31, 2024 – 6:00 p.m. – Finance Committee
 - Wednesday, January 31, 2024 7:00 p.m. Equity, Inclusion & Belonging Committee •
- > Dr. Kwiatkowski announced that the committees will be revised and shared at a later time.

Appointed by acclamation

Appointed by

ACTION: Approved by acclamation.

December 6, 2023 – Reorganization Meeting

- > Dr. Kwiatkowski asked if there was any other Business to come before the Board.
 - There was none.
- > Adjournment of business portion of the Reorganization meeting.
 - After no additional business to come before the board, Dr. Kwiatkowski adjourned the business portion of the meeting at 7:32 p.m.

After no further items were presented, on a motion by Mrs. Phillips and second by Mr. Fisher, the Business Meeting was adjourned at 7:32 p.m.

> Dr. Kwiatkowski then recognized the public to speak on any non-agenda item:

- There was none.
- Final Adjournment
 - After no one approached the podium, the final meeting adjournment occurred at 7:33 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sherri M. Jaffee Board Secretary